tradition and modern since 1828
the Gasthaus zum Dörenberg and its history
It all started in 1828 with a coachman bar, where coachman stopped on the way from Limekiln Tepe to Herrenrest to have a rest.
Over the years, the coachamn bar became a tavern, which was registered in September 1900 at IHK Osnabrück as a “Guest and Café Dörenberge” with the host and owner Heinrich Bäumker. After a fire in 1904, the house was completely destroyed (one believes it was an arson attack). On the same place a new Guest House and Cafe Dörenberge with rooms was built. After the First World War the guest house was run by Hermann Bäumker and from 1928 together with his wife Änne, born Schulte to Varwick. In 1934 the B-road 51 was relocated to its present location, which meant that the guest house became a popular tourist destination.
In 1967 the third generation took over with Herbert Bäumker and his wife Anna-Maria, born Schomaker, who invested and built the today’s Gasthaus zum Dörenberg, as a stunning hotel and restaurant.
The Gasthaus zum Dörenberg is now run by the 4th generation with Holger Bäumker.